

Lavenham Pre-School Lavenham Village Hall Church Street Lavenham Sudbury Suffolk CO10 9QT 01787 249738

lavenhampreschool@gmail.com www.lavenhampreschool.co.uk

No-Smoking Policy

Policy statement

We comply with health and safety regulations and the Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage in making our setting a no-smoking environment - both indoors and outdoors. This includes all electric cigarettes/vapes.

Procedures

- All staff, parents and volunteers are made aware of our No-smoking Policy.
- No-smoking signs are displayed prominently.
- The No-smoking Policy is stated in information for parents and staff.
- We actively encourage no-smoking by having information for parents and staff about where to get help to stop smoking if they are seeking this information.
- Staff who smoke do not do so during working hours, unless on a scheduled break and off the premises.
- Staff who smoke during working hours and travelling to and from work must not do so whilst wearing a setting uniform, or must at least cover the uniform.
- E-cigarettes are not permitted to be used on the premises.
- Staff who smoke or use e-cigarettes during their scheduled breaks must go well away from the premises.
- Staff who smoke during their break make every effort to reduce the effects of odour and passive smoking for children and colleagues
- Smoking is not permitted in any vehicles belonging to the setting.
- Staff are made aware that failure to adhere to this policy and procedures may result in disciplinary action.
- It is a criminal offence for employees to smoke in smoke-free areas, with a fixed penalty of £50 or prosecution and a fine of up to £200.

Legal framework

- The Smoke-free (Premises and Enforcement) Regulations (2006)
- The Smoke-free (Signs) Regulations (2012)
 - This policy was adopted by

Lavenham Preschool

(name of provider)

On Date to be reviewed Signed on behalf of the provider January 2025(date)January 2026(date)

Name of signatory Role of signatory (e.g. chair, director or owner) Roy Mawford

Chair of Trustees